Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Oct 2, 2012 in Press Releases | 0 comments

Betty Richardson Announces Advisory Committee Members

CONTACT: Betty Richardson (208) 939-0963
Jean McNeil (208) 383-0401


BOISE – In a rare display of bipartisanship, a coalition of Republicans, Democrats and Independents – including elected officials, educators and community leaders – has come together to endorse Betty Richardson for the open State Senate seat in West Boise’s District 15.

“I am honored to have the support of so many distinguished Idahoans,” said Richardson, whose campaign is chaired by former Gov. Cecil D. Andrus and Boise Mayor Dave Bieter. “There is a world of experience on my committee, and as District 15’s senator I intend to make full use of their expertise.”

The 30-member committee includes current Boise City Council members T.J. Thompson, Maryanne Jordan, Elaine Clegg and Lauren McLean. Thompson and Jordan both live in District 15.

Former City Council member and Ada County Commissioner Vern Bisterfeldt, former Ada County Commissioner Roger Simmons, and former Ada County Clerk Dave Navarro are also members of Richardson’s committee. Bisterfeldt, Simmons and Navarro are Republicans.

The committee includes former School Superintendent Marilyn Howard, Meridian School District Trustees Janet Calinsky and Lorraine Hand, and Boise School District Trustees Nancy Gregory, A.J. Balukoff and Janet Orndorff. Calinsky, Hand and Gregory are District 15 residents. High school government teacher Cindy Wilson, who teaches in District 15, is also a member.

Richardson, a Democrat, is running for the seat formerly held by Repubican Sen. John Andreason, whom Betty praised as moderate and independent. Andreason retired this year after two decades of service to District 15.

Other members of Richardson’s committee include District 15 residents Marc Arstein, Steve Boatman, Quinten Crockett, Marty Durand, Brent Duvall, Mike Frost, Judy Gillies, Kathy Haley, John Hand, Mark and Betty Heath, Annie Hickerson, Ernie and Carol Hoidal, Don Kershner, Sarah Poole, and Andrea Wassner.

“This committee represents my commitment to education, to Idaho’s workforce, and to the needs of local government,” Richardson said.

“I want to see Idaho kids attending first-class schools, Idaho’s economy working for everyone, and local government having the ability to meet the needs of its citizens. My committee is a reflection of those goals.”